Aishwarya Pissay wins Coimbatore National Rally in Women’s Two Wheel Group B

Two-wheeler rally racer Aishwarya Pissay has won the women’s class Group B two-wheeler category in the recently concluded third round of the Indian National Rally Championship. Pissay was part of the factory Petronas TVS Racing team which competed in a total of four classes at the Coimbatore Rally and finished on pole in all four. The combined team achieved 8 podiums in the third round.

Speaking on the achievement, Vimal Sumbly, Head Business – Premium, TVS Motor Company, said: “I am happy that we put in a commendable performance in Round 3 of the Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) 2022 and that we have wiped the slate clean by winning in all four categories we entered. This achievement is a testament to TVS Racing’s constant efforts to improve its technological prowess and maintain its leadership in the two-wheeled motorsport scene.

The TVS factory team took first place in all four classes they entered at the Coimbatore Rally.

Pissay, who is also a member of our annual carandbike awards jury, took pole on all three stages of the rally scoring a total of 25 points on lap three. This took her to 50 points after three rounds of the INRC.

Commenting on his performance, Pissay said: “”When you have the pace and a strong team to back you up, there’s no need to take undue risks. The fast terrain of the Kethanoor Wind Farms presented challenges with lots of rocks and rocks which made the course very slippery. Thanks to my Apache RTR 200, a lean machine that helped me through every challenge that came my way.

Pissay earned a total of 25 points in the third round of the INRC, taking her total to 50 points in Women’s Group B

Moving on to the other classes, the TVS Race Team secured a 1-2-3 finish in the Super Bike Pro Expert class with Rajendra RE and Abdul Waheed Tanveer taking P1 and P2 riding the RTR 450. Samule Jacob finished third riding an RTR 200.

In the Super Sport 260 Group B, Imran Pasha and Sachin D finished first and second respectively. In Group B Scooter up to 210cc, Syed Asif Ali and Shamin Khan took first and second place respectively riding the NTorq SXR.

Maria R. Newman